Student Success Steering Committee

The UC Santa Cruz Student Success Steering Committee (SSSC) provides leadership and guidance to improve outcomes for undergraduate and graduate students on our campus. We recognize that systematic disparities in these outcomes are rooted in lack of opportunity, poverty, and racism. Our approach to student success rests on three broad principles. First, we are committed to educational equity, addressing the needs of low- to middle-income students from historically underserved and under-resourced communities, students of color, and those who are the first in their family to attend college. Second, our focus is on the whole student, recognizing that success in the classroom depends on academic achievement as well as wellbeing and a sense of belonging both inside and outside of the classroom. Finally, we understand student success as a joint responsibility of the student and the institution, and we work to create institutional structures and conditions that support all students on their educational journey.

Read more about the committee's vision and commitment.

Student Success Steering Committee:

Brian Arao College Administrative Officer, Oakes and Rachel Carson Colleges
Danette Buie Director, Student Opportunity, Success and Equity, Arts Division
Greg Careaga Head of Assessment and Planning, and Head of the Undergraduate Experience Team, University Library
Ethan Chang Graduate Student Association representative and Doctoral candidate, Education Department, Social Sciences
Gary Dunn Director, Counseling and Psychological Services, Student Health
Ólöf Einarsdóttir Chair, Academic Senate, and Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Julian Fernald Director, Institutional Research, Assessment and Policy Studies 
Samara Foster Assistant Vice Provost for Educational Effectiveness and Managing Director, Student Success Evaluation & Research Center
Jody Greene Director, Center for Innovations in Teaching and Learning, and Professor of Literature and Feminist Studies
Stacey Gustafson Associate Registrar for Systems and Development, Office of the Registrar
Charis Herzon Director, Learning Support Services and Director, Hispanic Serving Institution Initiatives
Richard Hughey Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education
Galen Jarvinen Special Assistant, Chancellor’s Office
Mary Knudtson Associate Vice Chancellor, Student Health and Wellness, and Executive Director, Student Health Center
Regina Langhout Provost, Oakes College, and Professor of Psychology
Jessica Lawrence Academic Management Professionals and Department Manager, Department of Sociology 
Rebecca London Faculty Director, Student Success Evaluation and Research Center, and Assistant Professor, Sociology
Matthew McCarthy Chair, Committee on Teaching, Academic Senate, and Professor, Physical & Biological Sciences, Department of Ocean Sciences
Betty O’Donnell Coalition of Department Advisors representative, and Undergraduate Advisor, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Physical & Biological Sciences Division
Jaye Padgett (Committee Chair) Vice Provost for Student Success, and Professor of Linguistics
Pablo Reguerin Associate Vice Chancellor, Student Achievement and Equity Innovation, and Director, Educational Opportunity Programs
Tonya Ritola Committee on Educational Policy, Academic Senate, and Teaching Professor, Writing Program
T.M. "Mosley" Robinson-Mosley Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Development and Engagement, and Dean of Students
Lucy Rojas Assistant Vice Chancellor and Chief of Staff, Division of Student Success
Tchad Sanger University Registrar, Office of the Registrar
Barbara Silverthorne Director, Career Center
Stacey Sketo-Rosener Assistant Vice Provost, Undergraduate Advising
Keri Toma Global Programs Manager, Division of Global Engagement
Beth Thompson Lead Preceptor, Merrill College
Michelle Whittingham Associate Vice Chancellor, Enrollment Management
Jessica Xu Vice President of Academic Affairs, Student Union Assembly