Student Success Steering Committee

The UC Santa Cruz Student Success Steering Committee (SSSC) provides leadership and guidance to improve outcomes for undergraduate and graduate students on our campus. We recognize that systematic disparities in these outcomes are rooted in lack of opportunity, poverty, and racism. Our approach to student success rests on three broad principles. First, we are committed to educational equity, addressing the needs of low- to middle-income students from historically underserved and under-resourced communities, students of color, and those who are the first in their family to attend college. Second, our focus is on the whole student, recognizing that success in the classroom depends on academic achievement as well as wellbeing and a sense of belonging both inside and outside of the classroom. Finally, we understand student success as a joint responsibility of the student and the institution, and we work to create institutional structures and conditions that support all students on their educational journey.

Read more about the committee's vision and commitment.

Zsuzsanna Abrams Representative, Academic Senate, Committee on Planning and Budget; and Professor, Languages and Applied Linguistics
Chessa Adsit-Morris Director, Center for Creative Ecologies; PhD candidate, Visual Studies; and represenative, Academic Senate, Committee on Teaching
Brian Arao Senior Director for College Student Life, Oakes and Rachel Carson Colleges
Danette Buie Director, Student Opportunity, Success and Equity, Arts Division
Frank Calabrese Director, International Student and Scholar Services, Division of Global Engagement
Greg Careaga Head of Assessment and Planning, and Head of the Undergraduate Experience Team, University Library
Rebecca Covarrubias Faculty Director, Student Success Evaluation and Research Center, and Assistant Professor, Sociology
Gary Dunn Director, Counseling and Psychological Services
Julian Fernald Director, Institutional Research, Assessment and Policy Studies
Ben Fisher Coalition of Department Advisers and Math Undergraduate Adviser
Sam Foster Assistant Vice Provost for Educational Effectiveness and Managing Director, Student Success Evaluation & Research Center
Jody Greene Associate Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning; Director, Center for Innovations in Teaching and Learning, and Professor of Literature and Feminist Studies
Charis Herzon Director, Learning Support Services and Director, Hispanic Serving Institution Initiatives
Richard Hughey Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education
Galen Jarvinen Special Assistant, Chancellor’s Office
Mary Knudtson Associate Vice Chancellor, Student Health and Wellness, and Executive Director, Student Health Center
Jessica Lawrence Academic Management Professionals and Department Manager, Department of Sociology
Flora Lu Provost, College 9 & College 10, and Professor of Environmental Studies
Garrett Naiman Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Development and Engagement, and Dean of Students
Jaye Padgett Committee Chair, Vice Provost for Student Success, and Professor of Linguistics
Lauren Reed Lead Preceptor, Rachel Carson College
Pablo Reguerín Associate Vice Chancellor, Student Achievement and Equity Innovation, and Director, Educational Opportunity Programs
Tchad Sanger University Registrar, Office of the Registrar
Barbara Silverthorne Director, Career Center
Stacey Sketo-Rosener Assistant Vice Provost, Undergraduate Advising
Michelle Whittingham Associate Vice Chancellor, Enrollment Management